The Brooklyn Film & Arts Festival is pleased to announce the call for submissions for the 2024 Brooklyn Non-Fiction Prize.

The Brooklyn Non-Fiction Prize, a cash award of $500, will be awarded to the best Brooklyn- focused non-fiction essay which is set in Brooklyn and is about Brooklyn and/or Brooklyn people/characters.

We are seeking compelling Brooklyn stories from writers with a broad range of backgrounds and ages (minimum age 18 years old) who can render Brooklyn's rich soul and intangible qualities through the writer's actual experiences in Brooklyn.

From the collection of selected Brooklyn Non-Fiction Prize submissions, several authors will be selected to read from their work and discuss their Brooklyn stories with the audience at our annual finale event.

The exact date/time and venue will be announced later.

These stories and several other submitted stories will be published on the Brooklyn Film and Arts Festival website and made available to the public.

Submission Deadline: November 15th, 2024.

Entry Fee: Free

The winner's award is $500.

Submissions should be between 4 to 10 pages. (Up to 2500 words).

Send your Brooklyn Non-Fiction story as a Word document by email to:

Please include the story title, your name, email and phone number on your submission document.

The submitted writings will be judged by a panel of Brooklyn writers.

All the finalists will be invited to read from their writing and their entries will be included in the Brooklyn Film & Arts Festival's Brooklyn Non-Fiction Collection of stories in an online anthology.

The winners of the Brooklyn Non-Fiction Prize are the following authors:

Alberta Nassi in 2022

Ann Bar-Dov in 2021

David St. John Mills in 2020

Gregg Williard in 2019

Mark P. Cohen in 2018

Keith Haymes in 2017

Yesenia Flores Diaz in 2016

Clifford Genece in 2015

Jeanine DeHoney in 2014

Cherry Lou Sy in 2013

Christine Benvenuto in 2012

Naima Coster in 2011

The Runners-Up for the Brooklyn Non-Fiction Prize are the following authors:

Jose Corpas was the 2022 Brooklyn Non-Fiction Prize Runner-up.

Richard Pepitone was the 2021 Brooklyn Non-Fiction Prize Runner-up.

Kathleen Griffin was the 2020 Brooklyn Non-Fiction Prize Runner-up.